Preparing For the Storm

Standard

So my last mission companion’s grandfather had a motto that said, “Fish and company stink after three days.” She later told me that his motto only applied to family, not friends. If you were a friend, you could stay as long as you liked. However, if you were family, you were out of luck. 3 days was all you got for a visit.

Since I’ve come home from my mission, I’ve adopted that motto a little bit. I have a ton of family coming for Thanksgiving. And when I say a ton, I mean it. I’ve got about 10 people coming to visit. That means that there’s going to be 13 of us packed into the house. My parent’s house is a decent size, but the kitchen is pretty small, and once you pack a ton of people into a house it seems to shrink.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my family. But I have a problem with a lot of loud noise, so that’s what is going to bother me the most. Loud noise in enclosed spaces makes me get a little panicky. I have no idea why, it just does. I would absolutely love to just play with my nieces and nephews all day, but I can’t because: 1) I have a crap ton of homework to do 2) loud noises scare and irritate me.

I’ve been mentally preparing myself for this week all month. I think I should be ok. I tend to make a big deal out of things in my brain, so it probably won’t be near as bad as what I’m imagining.

So I’ve also been trying to balance out cleaning the house, doing homework, toddler proofing the house, and getting over the stomach flu this week (I find it a little ironic that I got the stomach flu right before Thanksgiving). I hope everything goes well. Just pray for my sanity this week. I’m going to need it.

I know that this has nothing to do with Thanksgiving, but here’s a video of Rhett and Link eating ghost peppers. I watched this earlier today, and it really helped to boost my mood. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

