Allergic to Onions, My Dear

Standard

Very busy, a billion stupid papers to do, so we are pasting in.


Hey everyone!

So to start off my email, here’s some funny quotes that a bunch of small, redheaded kids said. “I have a table at my house! I’m not allowed to take it anywhere though.” “Why are you wearing shoes?!” “My toots smell like cookies.” I feel like this explains children in a nutshell.

This week has been alright. Things are booming in the Meadow Lark Ward, but not so much in the Shamrock ward. We don’t get too much support from our Ward Mission Leader which doesn’t help us out too much.

So on Monday we just did our usual P-day stuffs. Nothing too exciting happened. The Sisters in the zone wanted to do a sister’s activity, but Sister Francies and I both hate being around too much estrogen, so we just did our own thing, which was fun.

On Tuesday Sister Francies woke up with the same sickness I had last week, so we stayed home and watched a lot of church videos. I ended up writing about 7 letters. We also got a couple of referrals that day from the bishop in the Meadow Lark Ward, which was awesome!

On Wednesday, Sister Francies still wasn’t feeling well, but we had district meeting that day and interviews with President Winder, so she mustered up the energy to go. Interviews were good. I brought up my concerns about marriage and whatnot for when I go home, and he just smiled and said that we’d talk about that in my final interview. But he said that he’s so proud of how far I’ve come on my mission and that he’s seen a huge change in me.

That night was interesting. We had a meeting with our ward mission leader and the ward missionaries in the Shamrock ward, and one thing led to another, and we got frustrated and told them they weren’t helping us fulfill our purpose and serious changes need to be made. They got upset with us, and ended up calling the Bishop about it. We met with him on Sunday and told Bishop our side, and Bishop is totally supportive of us and is willing to help us out. But after all of that jazz, we had a lesson with Sheri, which went well! We taught her the Restoration, and the spirit was so strong! She was in tears. We invited her to be baptized, and she said that she’d pray about it. She is so awesome!

On Thursday we decided we’d dedicate the day to Shamrock and just try people there. Well, no one answered the door, but we knew they were home. Even the active members wouldn’t open the door! Needless to say, we were really frustrated at the end of the day. We may or may not have gone to Sonic and ate our feelings. 🙂

Friday was basically the same as Thursday. We did have a scare though. The people we had dinner with (who were really sweet, by the way!) accidentally forgot that I’m allergic to onions, so they didn’t tell me until after dinner. We had a lesson with a less active family, which went really well, and right after the lesson my throat started to swell up and I couldn’t breathe. Sister Francies went into Mom mode, made me take 2 Benadryl and called the Elders and told them I needed a priesthood blessing asap. After all of this my throat finally stopped swelling, and I was able to breathe normally again. But it was scary! I’ve never had an anaphilatic reaction before, but I’m glad I didn’t have to go to the hospital and get poked with needles.

On Saturday we had a lesson with one of the referrals bishop gave us. His name is Jon and he is AWESOME! He’s met with missionaries before, and he’s so prepared. He came to church on Sunday and is willing to do anything to change his life. We also visited Dixie. She’s so awesome. I really love her a lot.

Sunday was busy. We had a hard time visiting people because of Father’s day so we just visited all of the single ladies in the wards. They all had really sad stories, so I was a little depressed by the end of the day.

I hope you all are doing well!

Love, Sister Bawden

PS: Sorry I haven’t sent any pictures. The place where we email has rejected my camera.
Leave a Reply

