Feeling Much Better Now

Standard

I’m super happy and relieved to be able to say Priel’s doing better this week! A lot of her issues with Sister T seem to be related to an anxiety spike as well as the usual issues of human pride, but she’s working it out. Prayer has helped her. In a direct quote: “I was praying to Heavenly Father about how frustrated I was with myself and with Sister T, and that I didn’t want to deal with anything anymore. Then Matthew 7:3-5 came to mind, and I read it. Then I was inspired to reread Mosiah 3-4. The part where the people cried out loud asking God for forgiveness really hit me hard. I realized that I was being selfish and judgmental, and that I needed to ask for forgiveness for how I was treating Sister T. So I asked Heavenly Father to forgive me, and to help me to love her and see her in a more positive light. He answered my prayer and I now feel that I love Sister T. Because of that, we were able to have a much better week, and were able to teach in unity because I had cast aside all of those feelings of irritation and anger.”

It also helped that Sister T cleaned up the basement a bit, haha.

Monday, they went to the Capitol building downtown and also to Freak Alley, which she recommends you look up because it’s too hard to describe. Pictures are included at the end of this post. Tuesday and Wednesday, they tried to do service for a part-member family, but basically the family just wanted them to keep cleaning up after them, and Priel says that they’re “missionaries, not maids,” so obviously that’s not the most conducive use of their time. Also, it was gross. They also spent time visiting people, and had a meeting with one of the mission leaders.

Thursday they had a zone meeting discussing Easter and such. Priel says the video at this link made her cry, which is rare, and she recommends it a lot. #BecauseHeLives On Friday, they had exchanges, which weren’t so great this time around. The sister she was working with is very naggy and judgmental and makes it hard on her. So Priel decided to park the car and insist they walk the seven miles they needed to, and got a sunburn for her troubles. Another little reminder not to lose her temper and to be forgiving, she says. They did find an investigator, at least!

Saturday they taught Shaimaa, who’s from Iraq and an ex-Muslim. It’s hard to teach her because she has a limited grasp of English, but she’s very eager and appreciates our belief about the afterlife. They also taught Eva, who reminds Priel a lot of her mom. Sunday they had lots of meetings, and Priel, happily, had success with speaking in church for a full 20 minutes despite her fear of speaking in public. She says, “I’ve gotten a lot of public speaking practice on my mission because the bishops love asking the missionaries to speak.”

Thanks for checking in, guys! I hope she continues to do well in the coming weeks. The date for her return is, at least for now, set as July 14th.

IMG_2035[1] IMG_1971[1]

Leave a Reply

