Birthdays and Miracles

Standard

Hey! Here’s Priel’s letter for the week:


Hello everyone!

To start off, I just want to tell you all that I had a wonderful birthday! At first, I was being a pickle and not wanting to celebrate because I couldn’t celebrate it with family or friends, but then I decided I was being stupid because you’re only 21 once, so I decided to celebrate my birthday. If any of you sent me anything, I haven’t gotten it yet (the mission office is probably using it for kindling to stay warm or something haha). But my birthday was honestly the best birthday I’ve ever had because I wasn’t focusing on myself. I still wanted to go out and work and help other people. I wasn’t going to use my birthday as an excuse to not work. But Sister Facer and I made me a cheesecake, and the members we had dinner with sang happy birthday to me and had me blow out some candle. It was a good day!

On Monday, my district hiked Table Rock. It was a ton of fun! It was pretty cold out, but it was still fun. I’ll attach some pictures of the hike.

On Tuesday we had district meeting. Elder Stark was my district leader in my last area, and now he’s my district leader again! Yay! He’s awesome. He’s one of my favorite Elders. He actually reminds me a lot of Nate, which is a little weird, but it’s still awesome. After district meeting we tried to visit some people because some of our appointments cancelled (lame!). We visited Julie that night, and we had a pretty good lesson with her!

On Wednesday we got busy with creating some kids lessons and then accidentally forgot to go visit a recent convert we had scheduled an appointment with, so we felt really bad about that. Wednesday night we visited the Nunos. They are recent converts, and we have suspected that she might be having problems with the Word of Wisdom, so we taught that. In the middle of the lesson, the bishop came over. He was going to talk to the Nunos about something but he let us continue our lesson and he made really good contributions. We finished the Nunos lesson early and then went to mutual.

On Thursday we spent most of the day doing weekly planning and then attempting to contact some referrals, who weren’t home at the moment. Thursday night, we had a baptism to go to! It was for a man in the ward who was getting rebaptized. It’s so cool seeing people who were excommunicated come back into the church! It started snowing really hard during the afternoon, and by the time we were heading off to the baptism, the roads were super scary. It normally takes us about 10 minutes to get to the stake center but it took us almost 30. Sister Facer is the driver, and she’s never driven in snow before, so that added to the scariness factor a little bit. But we made it safely, and the baptism was wonderful! After the baptism, we visited the Lawsons and taught them about the importance of keeping the Sabbath Day holy.

On Friday it snowed even more! We spent most of the day helping the members we live with shovel their driveway. It was Sister Facer’s first time shoveling snow, so that was fun for her! We visited the Bairds that night. Sister Baird has been having some health problems lately, so we try to visit her frequently.

Saturday was my birthday! We contacted some referrals, and most of them weren’t home, and one was a bad address, so that really didn’t result in much. Sister Facer and I have decided we need to try a more effective way of finding because spending all of our time trying to contact referrals is not an effective use of our time. We also spend some time walking around the apartment complex in our area trying to see if some less actives were home. Most weren’t home, one wouldn’t let us in, even though it was freezing outside. But we still had fun, even though we couldn’t feel our faces by the time we went to dinner.

On Sunday, we experienced a miracle. The bishop came up to us and told us that he had gone over to a less active man’s house to bless his baby. This less active man was a do not contact. The bishop said that this man invited him to invite us to come over and to teach him and his family! So he went from a do not contact to inviting the missionaries over! It’s amazing knowing that the Lord can soften people’s hearts! We will be contacting this family soon!

Well, there’s my week! I hope you are all doing well! I love you all and thank you so much for all of the birthday wishes!

Love,

Sister Bawden

IMG_1429[1] IMG_1396[2]
Leave a Reply

