Transfer to Amity

Standard

Ain’t nobody got time to paraphrase LaPriel’s perfectly good email during NaNoWriMo. I’ll see you next week. (Also, ten points to Ravenclaw for anyone who appreciates the Divergent-ish-ness of this post title like I do.)


Hello everyone!

Well, to start off, I got transferred :(. I am now in the Amity Stake, which borders the Nampa mission. So I could step into another mission and no one would know! Hahaha I would never do that though. My area is kind of in the boonies. Well, as boonies as you can get here. People have lots of land here, and there are horses, cows, goats, and llamas everywhere!

My new companion is Sister Facer. She is from Texas and has been out for almost 9 months. She seems pretty awesome so far. I am sad to not be in Boise North anymore because I grew to love so many people there, but I am excited for what this transfer has to offer. I will make the best of it!

Sister Pitkin and I tried our best to visit people this week, but it was one of those weird weeks where people weren’t home.

On Monday night, we visited Catie and Jayla. Catie just had surgery, and she’s doing well. Catie is slowly starting to trust us. I hope that her heart softens enough one day to listen to the message that we have to share.

On Tuesday, we knocked on a lot of doors, but no one was home, so it wasn’t a very productive day. But Sister Pitkin and I tried to make the best of it. We ended up having a really good street contact. There were these two teenage boys who were catcalling us, and asking for our number. I was freaked out and getting ready to go hurt them or something, and then Sister Pitkin says, “No, you can’t have our number, but would you like to learn more about Jesus Christ?” And then we started talking to them about the church. They opened up to us a lot. They both just got out of juvie for meth use, and they decided they wanted to clean up their lives. One kid said that he read the Bible 3 times while he was in juvie. It was a pretty cool experience. We gave them our number and told them to call us if they wanted to learn more. So we did end up giving them our number, haha.

On Wednesday, we visited Sister Slay. We had an enjoyable visit. I feel like I am going to miss her the most. I just got so attached to her! That’s the hard part about transfers. As soon as you get really attached to people the Lord decides to move you.

On Thursday we went on exchanges. Sister Willard came to my area. I learned a lot from her! She is a really good missionary. We visited Sister Twitty and helped her deep clean the interior of her car, and then we shared Alma 7:11-12 with her. She really needed to hear that scripture at that moment. We also visited a less active family that Sister Pitkin and I have never been able to get in contact with. They were so nice! They made food for us, and we played games with them. It was a super good visit. Sister Willard said that we needed to go back and share the first lesson with them because their testimonies are clearly not there.

On Friday we went to Zone Conference! It was honestly the best one I’ve been to so far on my mission. Elder Godoy of the Seventy came to speak to us! He is amazing. He was the guy that spoke in Portuguese at General Conference. I learned so much from him. One thing that particularly stood out to me is that you can’t be an effective teacher without having Christlike attributes, and having Christlike attributes are what will help your investigators have a lasting conversion.

On Saturday and Sunday, I said my goodbyes to all of the people that I have come to love in my area. I wish that I could stay there, but I know that it is time to learn something new. I will attach pictures of some of the people I saw. The first one is of Tiffany and Jordyn, the second is of Annie, the 3rd is of Sister Slay.

I hope that you are all doing well! Love you!

Love, Sister Bawden
IMG_1335[1]

IMG_1346[1]IMG_1340[1]

Leave a Reply

